Review

Review: One Summer in Rome by Samantha Tonge

one summer final cover

To Rome…with love?

Mary Smith is turning her very ordinary life upside-down! She’s bought herself a one-way ticket to Rome and is ready for a summer she’ll never forget.

Men might be off the cards for waitress Mary, but within hours of arriving at the utterly charming family-run La Dolce Vita pizzeria, she’s already fallen in love with the bustling capital!

Only Dante Rossi, the mysterious (and drop-dead gorgeous) chef seems displeased with her arrival. And in the heat of the kitchen, it doesn’t take long for long-buried secrets to surface and sparks to fly…

A deliciously heartwarming romance to have you dreaming of summer. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Caroline Roberts.

Purchase from Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2rrwXfT

Genre: woman’s fiction, romance
Pages: 384
Format: E-Book
Publisher: HQ Digital
(I have received a free copy of this book)

me and mitzieBio
Samantha Tonge lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and a cat who thinks it’s a dog. When not writing she spends her days cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. She has sold over 80 short stories to women’s magazines. Her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award in 2014. Game of Scones hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Best Romantic Ebook category at the 2015 Love Stories Awards.

Links
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor
Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

~Review~

One Summer in Rome.. A perfect summer read if you ask me. But not only summer read. This book can be read at any time.

This might be a romance book but I loved diversity in it (aside my obvious favorite, romance). When I see such a diversity in a books that are often called easy-read, my heart just grows and I personally think that romance books need more diversity. In recent years, a lot of them are full of it which is great. And this book right here is a pure gem among the genre. LGBTQ member, a person with disability, mentioning of an addiction problems, mentioning of current day problems like terrorist attacks.. ← something that you will find in this book as well.

We don’t get only romance, as I’ve said, but we also get characters dealing with their problems of self acceptance, self love, abuse. That’s why I loved this book so much.

I have never been in Rome even tho I was in Italy but this book made me want to go visit Rome and see it. It is described with a lot of love and knowledge about this town that left me wonder, did author visit it once? The whole Italian vibe was nicely described in the book. I would also love to visit that small village that was mentioned once when they visited it. I’m a sucker for small villages and beautiful scenery.
Ohh, I know very well how hot summers in Italy can be. Originally being from Croatia (which means, being sea neighbor to Italy), our summers get pretty hot as well. I could practically feel the sweat and how is it working in the sun since I worked often enough in the summer to know it. Or just walking around in the summer heat.

I was pleasingly surprised when I saw a mention of crystals and that the main character is such a big lover of those. I love crystals my self and believe in their healing properties so crystals being mentioned in a book made me smile like crazy.

All in all, please, give this book a read. It is such a wonderful book and deserves a read. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


Rating: 5* out of 5

With love,

Ana

Advertisements
Monthly wrap up

January Wrap up

Hello everyone!

This is my first wrap up of this year and I hope that I will be doing this at the end of every month. I might add a TBR for the next month but for now let’s leave it at just a Wrap up. This month I’ve read 7 books in total, 2 of those were comics.

So, here is the list:

  1. The muse by Jessie Burton (4*)
    1511213015Muza

Read this one in my mother language, Croatian, in 3 days. I liked it a lot! It was historical fiction and I have never read any before. It was nicely paced and kept my focus on it, that’s why 4 stars. It wasn’t perfect and it didn’t made me feel the things that my 5* books usually do.

2. The sun and her flowers by Rupi Kaur (4,5*)

35606560

I loved this one!! I’ve read this book in the airplane, on my way from one home to another (Croatia –> Germany) and I’ve shed some tears throughout. I plan to do a review of ‘Milk and honey’ and ‘The sun and her flowers’ together so stay tuned for it.

3. Fence #1 & #2 by C.S.Pacat (4*)

 

3606476836501268

When I saw that C.S.Pacat is publishing a comics, LGBT ones, I knew I had to have them so I preordered those and I really liked them. I just wish that they were a bit longer but hey, maybe that changes one day 😀

4. Perfect Match by Zoe May (4*)

y450-293

I really liked this one and I won’t tell you much about it, since I reviewed it here. Please, check it out.

5. Ibuki by Kathryn Sommerlot (4*)

37833600

This one I got off of Netgalley and it is LGBTQ+ book with fantasy elements. I liked it a lot, since I love the books sat in Japan or Asia in general. The reason that it didn’t got full 5 stars is that I wish the story was build up more.

6. Body Positive Power by Megan Jayne Crabbe aka bodyposipanda (5*)

35160288

This book!!! This book is amazing and the way Megan writes about all things diet and hot to love yourself is just awesome. I will be writing full on review on this one because it has blown my mind. I loved it!! Well deserved 5 stars.

That would be all from me!

With love,
Ana

Review

Book review: Captive Prince & Prince’s Gambit by C.S. Pascat

captive

Title: Captive Prince (Captive Prince #1)
Author: C. S. Pascat
Genre: Fantasy, Romance (M&M)
Pages: 270
Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos. But when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave.
Beautiful, manipulative, and deadly, his new master, Prince Laurent, epitomizes the worst of the court at Vere. But in the lethal political web of the Veretian court, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen finds himself caught up in a play for the throne, he must work together with Laurent to survive and save his country.
For Damen, there is just one rule: never, ever reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else…

princes gambit

Title: Prince’s Gambit (Captive Prince #2)
Author: C. S. Pascat
Genre: Fantasy, Romance (M&M)
Pages: 404
The second novel in the critically acclaimed trilogy from global phenomenon C. S. Pacat—with an all-new chapter exclusive to the print edition.
With their countries on the brink of war, Damen and his new master, Prince Laurent, must exchange the intrigues of the palace for the sweeping might of the battlefield as they travel to the border to avert a lethal plot.
Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself increasingly drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow…

Review:
I’ve heard about Captive Prince series on internet. I’m not sure was it Goodreads, Youtube or Instagram. I saw that many people are raving about it and saying how good it is. I wasn’t sure what to expect because usually when a lot of people are raving about book and praising it, I’m on the other side of the spectrum aka that one person that doesn’t like the book(s). But I still wanted to give it a try because plot sounded interesting. Plus, LGBT relationship is involved. So I bought first book.
Once I’ve started reading it, I couldn’t stop. The plot was so interesting that it was hard to put the book down. Damen is the guy that is brought to Prince Laurent of Vere as a sex slave. But Damen has his own secret that he is not allowed to say or he will most likely die. Because Laurent hates him because of the secret he is having.
This book series is not for you if you can’t stand rape, pedophilia and strong language. Or if you are homophobic, then please, go away from this book. But this book series has something brilliant behind it. Characters are amazing, specially Laurent. His mind is one of the kind so to say. The way his brain is working is really something that keeps you going. You never know what is in his mind. Even Damen is sometimes confused.
The person I kept hating through the first two books is Laurent’s uncle. That man is really doing everything he can to ruin Laurent. But Laurent has Damen by his side, Damen who can lead his army into so many wins and who can fight to save Laurent. Damen is often surprised by his owner (Laurent).
The first book kept me going so I bought second book aka Prince’s Gambit. And this book got me emotional. I tweeted to poor C.S.Pascat having my emotional breakdowns and while hating on Jord (the old leader of Laurent’s army). Why I hated on a poor guy?! HE BROKE FIRST KISS BETWEEN LAMEN (Laurent x Damen). I was really in the state to throw book across the room but I needed to continue to read it. My God, I couldn’t stop reading it until 1:30am and bothering my friends all over the chats that I’m emotionally dying. Okay, I bothered C.S.Pascat on Twitter a bit more. But for real, the second book was way better than the first one and if the third one is even better I believe I won’t survive that easily. I did a major mistake by not buying the third book when I was buying the second one.
In the second book we find out more about Laurent and Damen and we see their relationship growing. Their friendship, respect for each other and they start falling in love with each other. As much as they don’t see it, reader can realize it somehow. No, C.S. didn’t wrote it down as “What Damen didn’t know is that he has already fallen for Laurent.”. But small details make bigger picture.
To get what you want, you have to know exactly how much you are willing to give up.
One of the best quotes in the book. Because it is true. It is true even in the real life. And how much are Lamen willing to give up for each other? I bet I will find out more in the last book.
Writing is amazing, so many details shared, so many war and army strategies. There were times when I was wondering how many hours, days, weeks, months has C.S. spent researching it all. This series topped some of the books I liked for years, I gotta admit. And I know that this series will be in top books of 2016. I can’t remember last time I was this addicted about some book(s) that I went to read fanfictions after. Let me admit this; I’ve spend last two days reading Lamen fanfictions. After having mental breakdowns to all my friends about books. And telling them all to go read them.

Rating: ***** (5 out of 5) for both of the books.

 

Until next time,
Ana aka Toyangi