Review: The Princess and The Page by Christina Farley

THE PRINCESS AND THE PAGE COVER

Title: The Princess and The Page
Author: Christina Farley
Genre: Middle-grade, Fantasy
Pages: 227

A dark secret lurks in Keira’s family. She comes from a long line of Word Weavers who bring their stories to life when they use a magical pen. But Keira’s mom is unable to face the truth of the family’s history because the Word Weavers have been hunted for generations for their power. And so, she forbids Keira to write. Oblivious to the family’s secret ability, and angry at her mom’s rule of no fictional writing, Keira discovers her grandma’s Word Weaver pen and uses it to write a story for the Girls’ World fairy tale contest, believing it will bring her good luck. But when Keira decides to have her fairy tale reflect her family’s imperfect life, and has the princess in her story vanquished to a dark tower for eternity, she starts to wonder if anyone ever truly lives happily ever after.

17106088_10210285330704043_270023618_o

When Christina contacted me and asked me am I still willing to review her new book, The Princess and The Page, I was totally in for it. Last time I’ve read middle grade book was when I was actually in a middle grade myself so I didn’t know what to expect from the book. But I was pumped to read it. I admit, it took me some time to read it just because I’m currently not really in the reading mood but my goal was to read it before it got officially published (which is on 28th of March).

The idea for the book is on itself amazing and most of the plot is happening in the castle, in France. France as a country is not mine but castles are some other story. I love castles so much so when I’ve heard that plot is happening there, I was more than excited. Everything is going well until some things start happening, people have gone missing.. Keira starts wondering why has it all been happening because she doesn’t know a thing about her family history until one day her mom decides to tell her everything.

I won’t write much of a spoiler cause I know if I continue that I will probably spoil the book totally. I’ve loved Keira’s character. Even with her age she is a strong character and goes for what she thinks it’s right. She tries to make things better as well. I’m happy with how Christina made her character. Also, if the characters were a bit older and there was a bit more fantasy to it, this could’ve been an YA book as well I’m sure. For a middle grade book, it is awesomely written. And, a big plus for me was that it has to do with writing a bit (aside castle, of course).

I gave it 4 out of 5*.

Until the next time,

Ana

Leave a Reply

