Review

Review: The Job Blower by Melinda de Ross

the-job-blower
Title:
The Job Blower

Author: Melinda de Ross
Genre: Romance, chicklit
Pages: 166
Camilla Jackson is an ordinary young woman with an extraordinary knack for attracting disaster. When she is fired from her job as a secretary at a law firm, she realizes she has no idea what she wants to do next. Every job she does land ends up tragi-comically.
But when she meets the drop-dead-gorgeous journalist, Carter Evans, her life seems to brighten. Until she discovers that he hides some very deep and painful scars.
It remains to be seen if she will be able to help him heal and, in the process, find her own path in life. That is, if she manages to overcome her accident prone nature, which gets her into serious trouble…
THE JOB BLOWER is a lighthearted, laugh-out-loud Romantic Comedy, the kind of book that you will keep in your bookshelf and reread to brighten your days and spice up your nights.

Review:
I am back with yet another review of Melinda’s books. I just couldn’t miss the opportunity to be the first one to actually get e-book version of this book because it sounded so funny. And trust me, when you give me funny, romance and chick lit book, I’m all about it. Knowing Melinda’s writing style, I knew I won’t regret it.
The book starts off with Camilla getting fired for something she did yet again. Oh well, being in your 20s, living on your own and losing a job is never a good combo. So she tried to find any job possible (and I mean any). Even if she has some success, she blows every job.
On the other hand, she meets Carter. Oh yes, that sexy Carter (hey, at least he looks sexy in my eyes/mind). They meet by accident but them falling in love is not accident. He helps her to deal with herself a lot as much as she helps him fall in love again and open up himself. I would love to tell you more about how they got close but I don’t think I could do it without spoiling a book and that’s something I wouldn’t like to do.
As much as this is a chick lit book to me it wasn’t like the usual ones. I don’t know, Melinda has some kind of effect on me that her books always keep me turning the pages (hell, I’ve read this book in like 2 and half hours and on my E-reader app it had around 280 pages). Her characters are well written and well detailed and you just meet them through the book. It is not like she gives you everything you will find out about the character all at once. You get hooked with the characters and their life and just the way they are. You get the know the characters slowly as if you are meeting an actual person. Which is what I really like. I like to get to know the character slowly, it feels like I’m meeting a friend. At least, that’s what I like about the books. What I also like about the way she is writing her characters is, you are not able to predict their moves and what they are going to do next. When I’m able to predict things, it just ruins everything for me.
Now, don’t think that there is huge action happening on the each freaking page as in; oh my god, they are travelling somewhere, they are having sex or something else. No, there is something else that keeps your eyes and mind on the book. I think that it is how Melinda is making characters so real life. Yes, there are some typical bookish elements but somehow and sometimes you are able to feel like it can happen to any person out there. It just keeps you going.
My last thoughts are that Melinda should have a lot more readers than she already has. She deserves it, trust me. So if you are looking for the new summer read or you like chicklit and romance genre in general, try out with this book. I don’t think you will regret it.

Rating: ***** (5 out of 5)

Best regards,
toyangi aka Ana

3 thoughts on “Review: The Job Blower by Melinda de Ross

    1. I am happy that I’ve made you happy as well 🙂 You are so good for me in general so I think we have a mutual feelings going on XD

Leave a Reply

