Book review: Unabridged by Melinda De Ross

703485_10207179774667083_1834763315_o

Tittle: Unabridged
Author: Melinda De Ross
Genre: Chicklit
Pages: 219

Ironically, it all starts with a popular book about BDSM. When Angelina Jameson steps into her boss’s office armed with an acid article about ‘Billionaires, BDSM and Blah-blah-blah’, she thinks her career will take off. But her career aspirations drop into second place when she finds herself face to face with her nemesis.
Blade Spencer is the new editor-in-chief of Unabridged—the literary magazine where his ex-lover Angelina works. For three years, since she fled small town Jamestown without a word of explanation, they haven’t heard from one another. Now, when they meet again, the past and all the feelings they once had between them come rushing back, making them realize their love has never died. But can they reconcile their new circumstances and the changes that have occurred during the three years they were apart? Neither is the person the other used to know.
Then there is the faceless shadow who hunts them from the dark, driven by obsession and greed…
*This book contains strong language and explicit descriptions of sex.

Review:
Hello, it’s me! From the other side… No, wait, no.. I meant, with another review. Sorry!
This time, I’m reviewing “Unabridged”, another chick-lit book. I’m a sucker for a chick-lit and romance, I gotta admit that. And this book just reminded me how much I love chick-lit.
Let me start with the cover. It is gorgeous! Look at that pretty blue. I mean, there is even cat (*coughs*Rat*coughs*). My two favorite things on the cover. Apparently, Melinda also likes blue. Aaaaand, she did this cover herself. One talented author, I must admit.
The book was pleasurable to read. Yeah, it really starts with a popular book about BDSM and throughout the whole book I was thinking, which book it is. I mean, I think I know the answer but maybe I should ask Melinda. Angelina is great character and she is also a feminist. I am feminist myself and I loved her article. Let me give you a snip of it:
“Can you imagine a powerful woman, a woman in control who knows she is smart, strong and capable enjoying BDSM? Can you imagine Cleopatra – one of the most representative female figures in history – with her ass in the air in front of Caesar, getting a whipping or wearing a leash? If there has been any whipping going on in that royal tangle, I bet she was the one to do it. A woman like that would never dream of being anybody’s submissive.”
There is more to that article and seriously I was clapping after I read it. Because the whole article made sense to me. The thoughts that never left my head after reading this book were “Is Melinda also feminist and what she thinks about them?”.
Blade, oh Blade.. In my mind that guy looks so sexy and hot. Strong and powerful but still with a soft spot for Angelina. A huge soft spot. *chuckles* I loved how Melinda wrote out his character. He wasn’t boring or being super like cheesy. He was just right.
The story is also great, it kept my total attention the whole time. I didn’t want to put book down but sadly, it should’ve happen because life happens as well. Yes, it has strong language and descriptions of sex but I don’t think it is that bad as you can find today. I think there books with stronger language and detailed descriptions. I am almost 24 years old so it is not a problem for me to read this book and I’m not really that sensitive about this topic. The book ending was hilarious. The last chapter made me crack with laugh non stop. I loved it so much!
For the last part of my review there is only one question left: Who is Zorro Kalashnikov?

Rating: **** (4 out of 5)

Until the next time,
Ana aka Toyangi

6 thoughts on “Book review: Unabridged by Melinda De Ross

  1. Ana, this is one of the best reviews Unabridged has ever received, and I’m delighted you loved it! I am definitely a feminist, as you can probably tell from the book, and Zorro Kalashnikov is… a character I might use again in another book. :p
    Thank you so much for reading and reviewing Unabridged. XX

    Melinda

    • Toyangi says:

      Really? One of the best? I’m… speechless. This is such a huge compliment for me and it means so much. *claps* Glad to hear that you are feminist. Another topic where we can bond about. Zorro Kalashnikov? I hope that book with Zorro will be another chick lit (cause I will buy it as soon as it is out xD). I always somehow thought that Zorro is Blade. Don’t know why 😄
      No problem! Thank you for writing such a book. XOXO

      Ana

  2. The honor is mine. 🙂 And nope, Zorro isn’t a character in the book. BUT I can tell you he is a real person. *smiling mysteriously*
    Thank you for the review, and I will have another lough-out-loud Romantic Comedy released soon. You will be the first to know when it’s published. ❤

    • Toyangi says:

      Ahh, okay, I’ve been mistaken then. Now I wonder who is Zorro. Let’s just wait.
      Thank you 🙂 I’m really pumped about the book now. ❤

Leave a Reply

