Review

Book review: Love from Paris by Alexandra Potter

12790193_10207127238593714_1965124155_o

Title: Love from Paris
Author: Alexandra Potter
Genre: Chick lit
Pages: 358
How far would you go for love?
When new boyfriend Jack stands her up at the airport, Ruby Miller dries her tears, jumps on the Eurostar and heads to Paris. She thinks she’s going there to visit an old friend and have a total break from romance. But the City of Love has other ideas.
A locked apartment where time has stood still, a bundle of long-lost love letters and a flirtatious French lawyer sweep Ruby into a mystery that spans over seventy years. Who is the author of the letters? Why did the owner of the apartment close up the shutters and flee Paris before the war, never to return? And what secret was she hiding?
As the mystery deepens, Ruby turns love detective but it’s not long before the ghosts of the past throw her own love affair into jeopardy.

Review:
The second book in the series “The love detective”. In the first book Ruby goes to India and meets her boyfriend Jack. I won’t tell you much about first book because I would probably spoil it as no one before so you better go and buy the first book, ok?! Ok! Let me get started with review then.

Truth to be told, I’m not huge fan of France or Paris. Or at least I wasn’t before reading this book. Alexandra described Paris really nicely and offered me other side of French people. Yeah, I know it is all book but let me believe it. I love how she mentioned small streets worth visiting more than popular streets because that for sure is true. I believe that small streets have more soul to them than big, popular streets.

In Paris, Ruby meets Xavier aka Hot french guy (hey, he looks hot in my head ok?! no judging here!) by accident. Since her best friend, Harriet, needs to work Ruby decides that she will discover Paris by herself with map in her hands. While searching for Louvre, she sees Xavier who offers her to be her guide. Nope, that’s not the first time they’ve met. Not here to spill all the beans about their meeting, tsk.

Let’s just say that page 175 or the first page of chapter 19 blew my mind. Alexandra wrote whole page just about bookstore and how Ruby feels there. I think that every booklover can find themselves at this page. “What I really mean is, I lurve books. I’m obsessed by them. Even addicted.” Tell me that this isn’t pure truth if you love books.

But there is one quote that is stuck in my mind after reading this book and that is.

“Sometimes we all do things that are reckless, we must all take risks,” he says, fixing me with his slate grey eyes, “because it’s that which makes us feel truly alive.”
….
“But what if you risk losing everything?” I challenge.
“What is everything?” He throws it back. “A life without adventure and thrill is not a life.”

The last sentence.. The last sentence blew my mind totally. Because it is true. It made me question myself how many of us is actually living a life? We live only this fast paced life where we run only after career and live as fast as possible. But why?! Why do we live like this? I think something needs to change sooner or later.

Tell me what you think about this book if you’ve read it.

Rating: ***** (5 out of 5)

Until the next time,
Ana aka Toyangi

Leave a Reply

