Book review: Brazen by Christina Farley



Today we’re celebrating the release of BRAZEN by Christina Farley! BRAZEN is the third and final book in the Gilded series about a sixteen-year old girl who must use her martial art skills and wits to save her family, friends, and country from an evil Korean god. 

To learn more about this series, visit the Gilded Series websiteWatch GILDED’s book trailer here!

Be sure to pick up the letter for this stop at the end of this post to earn extra points in the Kindle Fire or $50 Amazon gift card giveaway! Collect all the letters during the blog tour to spell out the secret message to earn more points.
 
About the Book:

Find it: Amazon | B&N | Goodreads | Indie

My Review:

The last book in a series, „Brazen“, is the best one in the series as well.  I need to admit it, no matter what. This whole book has been an emotional train for me. I was scared, I wanted to cry, I wanted to yell at JaeHwa or at Marc. At some point, I found myself biting my lip in anticipation of what will happen next.

With Christina, you are never sure what will next page bring. It was hard to put the book down and take a break in reading because of life situations such as work or food. It was a huge roller coaster, bigger than with Brazen.

The first tears happened when Jae was burrying Michelle’s ashes because they both died together. More likely, only Michelle died, Jae survived. It was such a hard page to read because of how many emotions were running through Jae while she was doing it. Oh gosh.. And her hope when Bari told her those few words. Her hope died pretty soon sadly.

Love!! Love is important through the whole book. Jae’s love for her family, for Marc, for her friends, for her country. Love is her biggest motivation to finish Kud and all his plans. A lot of people won’t trust her on her way but that doesn’t stop her.

The fight scenes in this book are awesomly written. You can feel the energy. Jae is giving her all in those battles no matter what. She doesn’t really care will she made it out and what will happen. The one that stayed in my mind is fight Jae vs Kwan and Sangmin. Oh man, this fight and how she kicked their asses is something worth reading. Glad that Kud sent her to do the mission. But those two  assholes went with her. Woops, spoiler..

There are a lot of books that don’t progress in series as good as Gilded series did. I had some experiences in that field. The first book is amazing, the second is ok, the third is like “What did I just read?”. But I’m glad something like that didn’t happen with this series. I was falling more and more for the characters in this book. It is hard not to. Christina developed them so good. I love the way she did it. Specially with Jae. If you read review for the first book then you know that I wasn’t that huge fan of Jae. In this book that totally changed.

I really recommend this series to you guys. If you like mythology and main female characters, this series is for you. I’m glad that I watched the video from benjaminoftomes on Youtube where he introduced this book. I’ve never heard about Gilded series or Christina whatsoever. But I checked Goodreads and thought this could be something I will like. So I bought 1st book, then I bought 2nd. My story with Christina starts when I tweeted her because of mistake in translation of word “oppa” in the book. She was so nice and lovely. I forgot that mistake so soon. She is so supportive person, trust me. I couldn’t believe she answered me. 🙂 Maybe I meet her one day somewhere. That would be great.

Also, I’ve got my copy of Brazen and little gifts. I will insert photos now.

CPMtm2uWwAA_wGL
Signed poster, sticker, book, bookmark, note and her business card.

CPMt6IhWgAAvtGq
Signed book by Christina and her awesome message.

I gave this book 5 stars on goodreads.

Rating: ***** (out of 5)

Until the next time,
Ana

 About the Author:
 
CHRISTINA FARLEY is the author of the Gilded series, a YA contemporary fantasy series set in Korea. GILDED was nominated for Korea’s 2014 Morning Calm, Ohio’s 2015 Buckeye award, and the Tome’s It List. As a child, she loved to explore, which later inspired her to jump on a plane and travel the world. Christina’s adventures sparked her to write stories, infusing the real world with fantasy. Currently she writes from home in Clermont, FL with her husband and two sons—that is until the travel itch whisks her off to a new unknown.
 
Find Christina Here:

The Giveaway:

Rafflecopter link

To celebrate the release of BRAZEN, Christina is giving away a Kindle Fire (US only) and a $50 Amazon gift card (international). The letter for this stop is _O_Collect all the letters from the blog tour to earn more points!
10 thoughts on “Book review: Brazen by Christina Farley

  1. As much as I wanted to read your review, I couldn’t continue when I came across spoilers. But maybe they weren’t spoilers to some. I just haven’t had the chance to read the first two books in the series, so for me it was just too much info. LOL But I’m really glad to hear you enjoyed it. Makes me want to read them even more now!

Leave a Reply

