Book Review: Silvern by Christina Farley

silvern

Title: Silvern (Gilded series #2)
Author: Christina Farley 
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Fantasy
Pages: 376
Jae Hwa Lee is ready to forget about immortals and move on with her life. Until the god of darkness, Kud, sends an assassin to kill her. She escapes with the knowledge that Kud is seeking the lost White Tiger Orb, and joins the Guardians of Shinshi to seek out the orb before Kud can find it. But Kud is a stronger and more devious god than Jae ever imagined. Jae is soon painfully reminded that by making an enemy of Kud, she has placed her closest friends in danger, and must decide how much she can bear to sacrifice to defeat one of the most powerful immortals in all of Korea.

Review: (ALERT! Spoilers)
OH MY GOD! That’s my start for this post. Because this book is awesome. On Goodreads I gave it 4.5 stars but, I seriously loved this book. When I was reviewing the first book, I wrote that the first started slow. This one started in fast tempo and it didn’t go down till the end. There is a lot of action hiding inside of this book.
About Jae; her character grew through this book I would say. She starts to grow more as a person and tries her best to keep her loved ones safe. It is not as easy at it may seem to her. A lot of times, she tries to please and do what others want. But then, her senses kick in and she starts thinking with her head.
ACTION! And more action! I already wrote that there is a lot of action inside. Jae is fighting (I almost wrote hwaiting!) a lot here and her skills are coming in hand. Our handsome Marc is also growing and going through the hard times. A lot of them! The poor boy is on the brim of death. 😦 The way Jae is fighting is incredible, the way she finds her inner strength to fight for those she loves is amazing. Much more powerful than in Gilded. I loved it so much.
Gosh.. This book was a total roller-coaster for my emotions and well being. 😥 I must say that there is a lot of things happening; Jae loses couple of people and herself as well. At least a bit. If you read the book or plan to read it, you will know what I’m talking about. To be honest, I didn’t expect it to be this way. I know that some books in series can be better after the first one, but there are some that are even worse after the first one.
Also, I hoped that Jae will accept Palk’s offer and enjoy in her land but noooo.. My hands are so itchy to start reading Brazen aka the 3rd and final book in the series.
Have you seen the beautiful and amazing cover for it?
24816175

It is coming out on September 29th!! But I’ve won a giveaway that our lovely Christina Farley held over on her blog. I didn’t thought I will be one of the winners and her mail surprised me so much. I’ve got PDF of this beautiful book to review and my review will be going up on September 21st.

The whole Gilded series can be purchased on:
– Amazon: Gilded, Silvern & Brazen
-Books a million: Gilded, Silvern & Brazen
-Indie Bound: Gilded, Silvern & Brazen
-Barnes and Nobles (the site is not working for me :/ )

Also, be sure to check Christina’s website and Gilded series website to discover more about the series.

Rating: **** (4.5 out of 5)

Until next time,
Ana

PS I’m in no way sponsored by Christina Farley or her publisher to be this excited about the book, I just am.

Leave a Reply

